Naughty writers write at work.


A great weekend in these parts: Friday afternoon my boyfriend, Joe, flew in from Portland to visit for ten days. Ten beautiful days! And I’m on spring break, so I don’t have class to worry about. Except that pesky thesis stuff, which…let’s be honest…I’m all but ignoring now. Over the weekend, he met my parents for the first time. It went amazing. Everybody likes everybody and that’s the way I like it. Not that there was any doubt – Joe and my parents are three of the easiest people to get along with in the world.

I handed in my second 40-page chunk on Thursday. It was nice to get it out, but it’s not writing I’m really proud of. Two of the three stories I think have potential, but the third…ugh. I’m hoping my advisor can help me shape it into something worth including, or give me permission to rip it up and throw it away.

I’m anxious about this collection. It seemed like such a strong idea at first, but I don’t know if I’m handling it well. Every story takes on the same tone. I try to write a variety of characters and they all come back sounding the same to me. The same themes everywhere. Fathers and daughters. Destruction of the forest. Overpopulation. Family. Death. Loss.

Ugh.

My next deadline is rapidly approaching…April 2nd. These 40 pages I think will be all revision of older pieces, but I’m still not looking forward to it. I need to get my head in the game. Maybe a week off to just do the 9-to-5 work thing and spend time with my love will be somehow restorative. I hope so.

Leave a Reply

