2012 – Year in Books

In late 2011, I started keeping a spreadsheet of all the books I read – partly because sometimes I forget what I’ve read and partly because I knew I read a lot but wasn’t sure what “a lot” meant. So now it’s 2013 and I’ve been keeping this list for over a year and I have a full year of data to look at!

Here’s how it breaks down…

 

By numbers:

In 2012, I started 78 books. I finished 71 books, which leaves seven unfinished at year’s end. Of those, three I stopped reading because of disinterest and don’t plan to finish. The rest I intend to finish in 2013 (I have already finished two of them! yeah progress!)

 

By genre:

Audiobooks: 1.5 ish (still working on Moby Dick!)

Graphic memoir: 1

Contemporary fiction: 14

Essays: 1

Fairy tales: 2 (didn’t finish one)

Memoir: 1

Mystery: 5 (all of them from Craig Johnson’s Longmire series)

Nonfiction: 8

Novellas: 4

Poetry collections: 3

Romance novels: 7 + I reread 6 Gabaldons [book 7 in progress]

Sci-fi/horror/fantasy: 13 (almost entirely thanks to my sci-fi book club)

Story collections/anthologies: 7

Translation: 1

YA: 3

I didn’t keep track of lit journals or chapbooks, which I should have (note to self…).

 

Books I Read in One Day/Sitting:

Falling Backward into The World by Stephen Dunn (poetry) (I read this one almost daily, to be honest)

Soft Apocalypse by Will McIntosh (fantasy ish?)

Certified Cowboy by Rita Herron (romance)

Claimed by a Cowboy by Tanya Michaels (romance)

Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan (contemporary fiction)

Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell (non-fiction)

Riding Lessons by Sara Gruen (contemporary fiction)

Death Without Company by Craig Johnson (mystery)

The Dark House by Craig Johnson (mystery)

A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver (poetry)

Grace Grows by Shelle Sumners (contemporary fiction/romance)

Astray by Emma Donoghue (story collection)

 

Top 10, in no particular order:

Icefields by Thomas Wharton (fiction)

Falling Backward Into the World by Stephen Dunn (poetry)

Anatomies by Andee Hochman (story collection)

The Falls by Joyce Carol Oates (fiction)

Shut Up/Look Pretty – 5 chapbooks in 1 from Tiny Hardcore Press (Things About Me and You by Lauren Becker; This Morning Will Be Different by Erin Fitzgerald; Local God by Kristy Logan; What Passes for Normal by Michelle Reale; A Great Dark Sleep by Amber Sparks)

The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter (story collection/fairy tales)

Don’t Bet on the Prince by Jack Zipes (story collection/fairy tales)

Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan (fiction)

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood (fiction)

Astray by Emma Donoghue (story collection)

 

A Song of Ice and Fire:

Because I am a ridiculous person, I decided to read the entire series in a month. It wasn’t so much a conscious decision as an obsession that began almost immediately with book 1 and led to lots of days where I read through my entire lunch hour, read when I went to the bathroom and shut myself in my bedroom with the book immediately on returning home from work. I ignored my entire life, barely spoke to my boyfriend and dreamed about war. It was awesome.

A Game of Thrones: 5 days

A Clash of Kings: 4 days

A Storm of Swords: 5 days

A Feast for Crows: 5 days

A Dance with Dragons: 7 days

Although now of course I have to wait years and years for the next book, so…joke’s on me, I guess.

So far in 2013, I’ve finished two books, started one, and two have carried over from 2012 in various stages of progress. It’s been a solid first week! 51 to go…

Leave a Reply

